Opinion

Kitsap 9/11: A lesson in unity | In Our Opinion

  • Sep 16, 2016 at 2:59PM

The crisp, blue skies above Evergreen Rotary Park in Bremerton belied the somber, poignant ceremony taking place Sept. 11 at the picturesque park’s Kitsap 9/11 Memorial. Several hundred residents gathered there to honor those killed or injured 15 years ago in lower Manhattan, at the Pentagon and in rural Pennsylvania.

 

Community Events, September 2016

Add an Event

Honor those lost on 9/11/2001 | In Our Opinion

  • Sep 9, 2016 at 1:00PM updated Sep 10, 2016 at 6:26PM

In remembering 9/11 and the lives lost that day, we steel our resolve to ensure such an attack never again happens. And we remember the courage of all those aboard those hijacked commercial jetliners, particularly those who fought to retake control of their plane, which crashed in a Pennsylvania field.

More than two choices for POTUS | In Our Opinion

  • Sep 1, 2016 at 5:04PM

“Our media is doing its best to have us believe that only two people are running for president,” Ann Brown of Bremerton wrote in a letter to the editor. Brown presents a good argument.

Assess tests, as well as students | In Our Opinion

  • Aug 30, 2016 at 1:54PM

As confidence grows in Smarter Balanced, an assessment of each test’s value as a measurement tool still makes sense.

Mayor writes about land transactions | Guest column

  • Aug 23, 2016 at 11:06AM

Recently, I have received a couple of inquiries about a decision in my private life. It has nothing to do with my job, but in the spirit of openness and candor, I’ve decided to share what happened.

More Opinion

Read the Sep 23
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates