- - Herald graphic

Giving that keeps giving locally | In Our Opinion

  • Nov 20, 2015 at 10:30AM

Why is it that there are so many requests for help this time of year? It’s not just because of Thanksgiving and Christmas. It’s because it’s cold. More people in our community — perhaps people you know — have to stretch that dollar farther. Suddenly, cupboards are a little more bare, clothing a little more inadequate. Needs once put off now become critical. Consider a gift, no matter the size, to the Poulsbo Lions Raab Foundation Bellringer Fund. Here’s what your dollar accomplishes ...


Community Events, November 2015

Add an Event

It’s never too late to thank a veteran | My View

  • Nov 12, 2015 at 3:01PM

Today, most of us have family members, friends or acquaintances that served in Vietnam. It is never too late for us to undo the disservice done to many veterans who returned home and were disdained or ignored 40 years ago.

Safety on our roads: It starts with you | In Our Opinion

  • Nov 12, 2015 at 2:58PM

It’s been another deadly year on Kitsap’s roads. With winter weather nearing, it could get worse. But it doesn’t have to.

Making mental health care for veterans in the Pacific Northwest a priority | My View

  • Nov 6, 2015 at 4:00PM updated Nov 7, 2015 at 7:15AM

On this upcoming Veterans Day, we’re reminded of the millions of brave men and women that have stood on the front lines for our country. But rarely are we reminded of what these soldiers and military personnel endure once they rejoin civilian life.

I-1366: The explosion heard ’round the capitol | The Petri Dish

  • Nov 6, 2015 at 9:00AM updated Nov 7, 2015 at 7:15AM

Voters have spoken and no one could be pleased more by what they said than Tim Eyman. The professional initiative promoter from Mukilteo had another anti-tax measure on Tuesday’s ballot. And like many of its predecessors it is passing with support in nearly every county in the state.

Question of the Day

Do you think the North Kitsap Vikings will defeat Archbishop Murphy in the 2A State Football Quarterfinal game Nov. 21 at North Kitsap Stadium?

More Opinion

Read the Nov 20
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates