Some boards, commissions will get new members

POULSBO — Some boards and commissions could have new members after the election.

Antonio DeCarlo is retiring from the Poulsbo Port Commission. Marc Bissonette is retiring from the Kingston Port Commission. North Kitsap School Board member Tom Anderson had not filed as a candidate for reelection as of Thursday at 1 p.m., and two other candidates had filed with hopes of becoming his successor.

The candidate filing period for the Aug. 6 primary election began Monday and concludes Friday at 5 p.m.

All told, 83 positions in 40 municipalities and governing districts are on the ballot in Kitsap County this year. North Kitsap residents will vote on 21 of those positions.

With one day left for candidate filing, races were taking shape for Poulsbo City Council.

Mayor Becky Erickson, Council Position 5 member Ed Stern, and Council Position 6 member David Musgrove filed for re-election, and were unopposed as of noon on Thursday. Council Position 7 member Jim Henry filed for re-election, and faces a challenge from librarian Melody Sky Eisler.

Three have filed as candidates for North Kitsap School Board. For Anderson’s District 1 position: Cindy Webster-Martinson and Steve Hancock. District 3 Director Ken Ames was running unopposed Thursday for election to his position, to which he was appointed to in 2012.

Stephen Swann, Position 2 commissioner at the Port of Poulsbo, has filed as a candidate for Position 1, which has a six-year term. As of Thursday, no one filed for Position 2, which has two years remaining; Swann was appointed to the position in 2012.

At Kitsap County Fire District No. 18 (Poulsbo Fire), C. Conrad Green, Position 2, and Darryl Milton, Position 5, are running unopposed for re-election to the board of fire commissioners.

Patrick Pearson filed for re-election for North Kitsap Fire & Rescue Board of Commissioners Position 2.

Nels Sultan is running for Port of Kingston Board of Commissioners District 1. Incumbent Marc Bissonnette is not running for re-election.

Tracy Darlene Harris and Jim Moore are running for re-election to the Village Green Metropolitan Park Board of Commissioners, Positions 2 and 5 respectively.

Other ports
Patrick Hatchel has filed for the District 3 position on the Port of Indianola Board of Commissioners. No one had filed for Position 2 as of Thursday at noon.

John M. Thompson is running for Position 1 on the Port of Keyport Board of Commissioners.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates