Superior Court race will go to Nov. 6 general election

POULSBO — In Washington state, a Superior Court judge can be elected in the primary if he or she receives more than 50 percent of the vote.While Jennifer Forbes still holds a commanding lead in the Superior Court Judge, Court 7 race, she will most likely face Bainbridge Island’s Karen Klein in the general election.

As of Tuesday, with only 20 ballots left to count, Forbes had 25,192 votes, or 48.93 percent. Klein had 10,057 votes, or 19.53 percent. Rob MacDermid of Silverdale had 8,633 votes, Bill Houser of Poulsbo had 7,256. The results will be verified Aug. 21.

Forbes is president of the Kitsap County Bar Association, serves as a judge pro tem or commissioner in local municipal and district courts, and is a former deputy county prosecutor.

She wants to make the Superior Court a paperless court, with electronic filing as in District Court; create alternative courts to handle cases involving veterans and people with mental health issues; and prepare the court for an expected increase in civil pro se cases, in which plaintiffs or respondents represent themselves.

“Court rules apply equally to pro se litigants,” she said. “We need to work to make sure the process and procedures are understandable.”

Klein has 30 years of experience as a civil and criminal trial attorney and general counsel. She is CEO of Silver Planet, which helps seniors manage their healthcare. She has served as a judge pro tem in Kitsap County.

Klein supports creation of a mental health court and a veterans court; using social media as a way to educate the public about the court system; and making Superior Court a paper less court.

Citing her law experience and community service, she said, “I have a passion for justice, to further serve the public.”

There are 146,384 registered voters in Kitsap County. The county Elections Office received 60,797 ballots, a voter turnout of 41.53 percent.Here’s how Kitsap County voted. An asterisk has been placed next to the names of candidates advancing to the general election.

State Supreme Court races were decided in the primary.

Kitsap County’s results in federal and state offices mirrored statewide results. See www.sos.wa.gov/elections.

U.S. Senator
*Michael Baumgartner 18,201
Will Baker 642
Chuck Jackson 1,179
Timmy (Doc) Wilson 1,228
Art Coday 3,884
*Maria Cantwell 32,304
Glen (Stocky) R. Stockwell 1,282
Mike the Mover 789
Write in 49

U.S. Representative District 6
Jesse Young 6,381
Eric G. Arentz Jr. 1,364
*Derek Kilmer 31,286
*Bill Driscoll 11,511
David (Ike) Eichner 3,363
Stephan Andrew Brodhead 527
Doug Cloud 4,358
Write in 79

U.S. Representative District 1one-month term
Brian Berry 755
Ruth Morrison 520
Laura Ruderman 2,753
J. Byron Holcomb 657
Darshan Rauniyar 623
*John Koster 10,468
Brian Sullivan 505
Steven J. Gerdes 1,430
Bob Champion 756
*Suzan DelBene 7,142
Darcy Burner 4,246
Write in 221

Rob Hill 1,070
*Rob McKenna 26,355
*Jay Inslee 28,678
James White 596
Christian Joubert 455
Shahram Hadian 1,959
L. Dale Sorgen 435
Max Sampson 375
Javier O. Lopez 218
Write in 32

Lieutenant Governor
Glenn Anderson 8,808
*Brad Owen 29,398
James Robert Deal 1,679
*Bill Finkbeiner 15,913
Dave T. Sumner IV 286
Mark Greene 1,898
Write in 77

Secretary of State
Jim Kastama 6,998
David J. Anderson 1,883
Sam Wright 852
Karen Murray 1,768
*Kathleen Drew 12,037
*Kim Wyman 23,433
Greg Nickels 10,614
Write in 101

State Treasurer
*Jim McIntire 40,821
Write in 2,402

State Auditor
*Troy Kelley 14,196*
James Watkins 26,061
Mark Miloscia 5,282
Craig Pridemore 10,004

Attorney General
*Bob Ferguson 29,164
*Reagan Dunn 21,688
Stephen Pidgeon 6,627
Write in 87

Commissioner of Public Lands
Stephen A. Sharon 4,644
*Peter J. Goldmark 29,413
*Clint Didier 22,879
Write in 319

Superintendent of Public Instruction
James Bauckman 6,845
*Randy I. Dorn 27,642
Don Hansler 5,663
John Patterson Blair 2,901
*Ronald L. (Ron) Higgins 7,579
Write in 282

Insurance Commissioner
*John R. Adams 12,667
*Mike Kreidler 30,342
Scott Reilly 11,063
Brian C. Berend 2,462
Write in 71

State Senator 23
*Bret A. Treadwell 11,631
*Christine Rolfes 21,630
Write in 102

State Representative 23     Position 1
*Sherry V. Appleton 20,251
*Tony Stephens 13,318
Write in 61

State Representative 23     Position 2
*Drew Hansen 17,339
*James M. Olsen 13,308
Henning B. Larsen 2,272
Write in 38

County Commissioner            District 1
*Robert ''Rob'' Gelder 13,623
*Chris Tibbs 8,145
Write in 54

County Commissioner            District 2
*Charlotte Garrido 5,922
*Linda Simpson 6,716
Kristine K. Danielson 1,464
Lary Coppola 3,727
Write in 42

Supreme Court Justice             Position 2
Douglas W. McQuaid 13,497
*Susan Owens 30,548
Scott Stafne 6,859
Write in 280

Supreme Court Justice             Position 8
Bruce O. Danielson 22,363
*Steve Gonzalez 28,819
Write in 226

Supreme Court Justice             Position 9
Bruce Hilyer 11,964
*Sheryl Gordon McCloud 17,051
*Richard B. Sanders 15,277
John W. Ladenburg 7,399
Write in 187

Court of Appeals Division 2 District 2 Position 2
*Thomas Bjorgen 8,743
*Pamela Loginsky 13,712
Thomas E. Weaver Jr. 8,260
Michael Lynch 7,389
Brendan Williams 5,389
Jim Foley 6,413
Write in 207

Superior Court Judge Court 7
*Jennifer Forbes 25,192
Rob MacDermid 8,633
Bill Houser 7,256
*Karen Klein 10,057
Write in 350



We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates