Sullivan reelected chairman of Port Gamble S’Klallam; Aikman, Purser elected to council

Port Gamble S’Klallam Chairman Jeromy Sullivan ... reelected chairman. - Tad Sooter / 2010
Port Gamble S’Klallam Chairman Jeromy Sullivan ... reelected chairman.
— image credit: Tad Sooter / 2010

PORT GAMBLE S'KLALLAM — Jeromy Sullivan was reelected chairman of the Port Gamble S’Klallam Tribe on Monday, while two new members were elected to the Tribal Council.

Eugene Purser replaced Chad Sullivan on the council. Jamie Aikman was elected to the post left by Kari DeCoteau, who resigned.

Jeromy Sullivan ran unopposed for chairman. Council member Francine Swift was also reelected unopposed.

Positions held by Vice Chairman Chris Tom and Council member Kelly Baze were not up for election this year.

A total of 158 votes were cast. The newly elected members were sworn in at a meeting Tuesday.

The Tribal Council exercises full governmental control over Port Gamble S’Klallam’s 1,340-acre reservation on the east shore of Port Gamble. Tribal enrollment was 1,156 in 2009.

Port Gamble S’Klallam is a signatory to the Point No Point Treaty of 1855, and works to protect natural resources and resource rights in its usual and accustomed territory.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates