12 nominated for Rangvald Kvelstad Teacher of the Year

POULSBO — Twelve teachers have been nominated for the Rangvald Kvelstad Teacher of the Year Award, presented by the North Kitsap Teacher of the Year Foundation.

Ten of the nominees teach in primary education, two teach in secondary.

The Teacher of the Year award is given to two nominees every year. Nominations are submitted by students, parents, teachers and other community members. The award includes a grant funded by a permanent endowment created by local contributors. Teachers at any school in North Kitsap are eligible.

The 2012 nominees are Darby Armbrister, ISP, Gordon Elementary; Nancy Carter, Resource Room, Gordon Elementary; Judith Enright, second grade, Wolfle Elementary;

Barb Emel, adviser/teacher, PAL K-2; Sue Friedman, third grade, Gateway Christian School; Debra Kidder, fifth grade, Vinland Elementary; Linda McCormick, kindergarten, Pearson Elementary; Terry Martin, sixth grade, math, Poulsbo Middle School;

Eric Nieland, engineering/AP, 3D-Art, mechanical drawing, North Kitsap High School; Debora Pavlich-Boaz, ASSIST coordinator, Breidablick Elementary; Nathanial Smith, NK Options grades 5-8, Gordon Elementary; Peggy Williams, second grade, Suquamish Elementary.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates