Vincent Chargualaf elected chairman of Suquamish Youth Council

SUQUAMISH — Vincent Chargualaf was elected chairman of the Suquamish Youth Council for 2012-13, on March 2. He was previously the council’s historian and UNITY representative.

Also elected: Ryan Sigo, vice chairman; Uriah Wright, treasurer; Jazmine Lawrence-Ortiz, treasurer; Devon Crow, historian; Shilene George, representative 1; and Sequoia Chargualaf, representative 2.

The Suquamish Youth Council is a group formed of drug- and alcohol-free youth. The council meets weekly, hosts fundraisers and clean-up projects, raises money for Christmas trees for families, and helps host the annual Canoe Journey. Council members also attend the annual Northwest Indian Youth Conference, where they attend workshops (recent topics include “7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens,” “Culture & Spirituality,” “Empowerment & Leadership and “Teens Against Tobacco”), and participate in traditional activities and sports tournaments.

In the March edition of Suquamish News, the outgoing officers were congratulated for their “hard work and dedication to your community … You are all great leaders with a very promising future.” Officers for 2011-12 were Erica Cardiel, chairwoman; Crystal Boure, vice chairwoman; Kali Chargualaf, secretary; Jalen Formby, treasurer; and Angeline Narte, representative.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates